Ulster Championship racing on Bank Holiday 13th July

By Stuart Campbell

THE Mourne Motorcycle Club held the fifth round of the 2019 Adult Ulster Motocross Championship at Seaforde Moto Parc on Saturday, July 13.

This was the second round of the championship to be held at Norman Green’s Seaforde track this year and the track was run the opposite way from normal, to offer the riders something different on their latest visit.

The combined Expert MX1 and MX2 class was first to the line, with championship leader James Mackrell, from Dundonald, missing through injury and Loughbrickland rider Jason Meara racing in the British Championship for the rest of the 2019 season. In the first race Loughbrickland man John Meara took the honours after 11 laps, leading second placed Glenn McCormick, from Glenoe, by almost ten seconds at the chequered flag. John Meara was the top MX1 rider, with Jordan McCaw in second, Ryan Adair in third and Annalong rider Lindsey Newell in fourth position. McCormick was the top MX2 rider, with Jake Sheridan in second and Aaron Gardiner in third position. In race two Meara took the chequered flag again, with McCaw second, Adair third and Newell in fourth in the MX1 class. In the MX2 class, McCormick took the honours for the second time, with Sheridan and Gardiner rounding out the top three.

The Clubman’s MX2 class was next on the line with Ardglass man Eoin Duffy taking two wins on the day, Scott Fisher in second and Conor Devlin in third position after seven laps in race one. In race two Duffy was followed home by Devlin, Robert McCauley and Fisher in fourth position.

In the Clubman MX1 class championship leader Lee McGrath won race one ahead of Terence McGlone in second and Roy McGarvey in third position. In the second race McGlone took the honours ahead of Richard Greer, Ryan Canning in third position and Lee McGrath came home in 15th position. A collision between two riders in the second race meant that both ambulances had taken the men to hospital and racing couldn’t continue on the day without medical cover.

In the only combined Semi-Expert MX1 and MX2 class race Nathan Green took the chequered flag on his home track, ahead of MX2 championship leader Connor Mullan, from Crossgar. Green and Mullan were the first two men in the MX2 class, with Ivan Kerr coming home in third position. Australian man and MX1 championship leader Aaron Ashton took first in the MX1 class, with Anthony Brown in second and Russell Tanahill coming home in third position.

In the one Veteran’s class race Temple rider Richard Watt took the honours, with championship rival Jonathan McBride from Comber taking second and Ballynahinch man Chris Bell coming home in third position.